VIVO IPL T20 2016: Leading Indian wicket-takers in IPL till now


India’s most popular domestic league IPL has been a true show of extraordinary talents and a comeback chance for the defaulters. Given the Indian origins of this league, it simply cannot stay out of the fray while praising the subcontinent’s blood. Addressed here are the Indian bowlers who despite facing numerous lows and highs in their international career, raised their performance bar high in this competitive league.

Amit Mishra (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Coming at the number one spot is the leg-spinner of Delhi Daredevils, Amit Mishra, who in his 8 years of IPL career registered 112 dismissals under his name. Playing for Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad, the classic spinner had his consistency in bowling maintained throughout the major portion of his IPL career, primarily the first five editions. It was during the early years in the Indian domestic league that Mishra got his best bowling figures of 5/17.

Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians)

Following him is the legendary Indian off-break spinner who has been the iconic player for Mumbai Indians in all editions of the IPL. With just a wicket behind Mishra, Harbhajan Singh is the second most successful Indian bowler in the subcontinent’s league. Bhajji has to his record 111 wickets in 112 matches of the tournament’s history. Given the Delhi team’s highly weak performance in the debut match of the ongoing IPL edition, it is speculated that Mishra would soon run out of chances to increase his stock of wickets. And this can be the golden chance for Harbhajan to surpass his record.

Piyush Chawla

Standing at the same platform is the spinning sensation of Kolkata Knight Riders, Piyush Chawla who also in 112 matches of his IPL career grabbed 111 wickets. The leg-break bowler registered his last 2 dismissals in the debut match of IPL 2016 against the Delhi Daredevils.