VIVO IPL T20 2016: Dominant bowlers put Rising Pune Supergiants on the mat


Ishant Sharma, Mitchell Marsh and Rajat Bhatia claim first-ball wicket

Despite being shifted from Chennai Super Kings to Rising Pune Supergiants, leading man Mahendra Singh Dhoni appeared determined on his decisions at Wankhede Stadium. Utilising the pace-options from squad, Dhoni put his best bowlers on assault against defending champions Mumbai as Pune folded them for 121-8 after 20 overs.

Enthralling the cricket-lovers, Pune bowlers put their best foot forward in the opening match of the Indian Premier League ninth season. Old-timer paceman RP Singh (1/30) initiated the downfall for MI which was later followed by Ishant Sharma, Mitchell March (2/21) and Rajat Bhatia (1/10). Gaining with the turn, Indian spinners Ravichandran Ashwin (1/7) and Murugan Ashwin (1/16) too joined the party, later.

However, Mumbai too looked a bit wobbly from the start as firstly their experiment to play pinch-hitter Hardik Pandya on number 3 failed and later wicket-keeper batsman Jos Buttler lost his wicket for a duck, on his IPL debut.

Bowling in his 100th T20 match, Ishant came out in bright colours as he tapped Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma (7) for LBW in his first delivery. Later in his second over, the Delhi pacer trapped big fish, bowling Lendl Simmons (8) out.

Australian pace-machine Mitchell Marsh continued the symphony left by Ishant as he too claimed a wicket on first ball. Dismissing Pandya (9) on first ball and Buttler on the last ball of his first over, Marsh left his marks on Wankhede turf.

Amid exceptional attack on the Mumbai batting line-up, Indian all-rounder Rajat Bhatia came up as best in class. Devouring Kieron Pollard (1) on his first deliver, Bhatia bowled 8th over as a maiden-wicket over and concluded his 4-over spell with an inspiring economy of 2.5 runs per over.

Rajat Bhatia’s complete spell: W 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 1 0 0 1 0 0 1 1, 4-1-10-1