Sanath Jayasuriya set to return as chief of Sri Lanka selection committee


Sri Lankan legendary allrounder Sanath Jayasuriya is all set to return as the chairman of the Sri Lankan selection committee replacing his former teammate Aravinda De Silva.

The 46-year-old had stepped down as Sri Lanka’s chief selector last year. In Jayasuriya’s tenure between 2013 and 2015, Sri Lanka had emerged victorious in the 2014 Asia Cup. He is set to return following Sri Lanka’s dismal performance in the Asia Cup and World Twenty20 in 2016.

“In wanting to take Sri Lankan cricket to a new path, we have put some changes in place. As such, we are expecting to appoint Sanath Jayasuriya as the new chairman of selectors,” Sri Lankan Cricket president Thilanga Sumathipala told Singhalese newspaper DIVAINA.

According to Sri Lankan Cricket vice president Mohan de Silva, former Sri Lankan cricketers Romesh Kaluwitharana and Ranjith Madurasingha are also expected to be recruited as part of the selection committee.

If reports are to be believed then Jayasuriya is likely to remain at the helm of Sri Lankan selection committee till the 2019 World Cup.