Netherlands vs. Oman World Cup T20 – Preview


The seventh match of the ongoing ICC World T20 will see Oman take on Netherlands at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala. Oman recently created a history by defeating the strong Ireland team in their first encounter which has opened the Group A and has given the chance of a lifetime for Oman to qualify.

Few would have thought that Oman would be heading into this match level on points with Bangladesh and on the back of victory over Ireland. Oman came out all guns blazing with Zeeshan Maqsood and Khawar Ali the chief aggressors. Maqsood scored 38 off 33 balls while Ali posted 34 in 26 deliveries. Jatinder Singh also added some useful runs for the chasers. However, they lost a raft of wickets thereafter making it difficult for themselves.

But due to lack of experience, we can’t sure about the team that it will keep continuing its winning journey. It will be interesting to watch today’s match that what will Oman strategy in this match.

While on the other side Netherlands lost their first encounter against Bangladesh but performed very well. Netherlands bowlers did well against Bangladesh team to keep them quiet and not giving easy run the opposite so Netherlands team still has a chance to qualify for the next round if they win the remaining games.

Stephan Myburgh and Ben Cooper top-scored with 29 runs each but the side finished eight runs short of Bangladesh’s total at the end of the 20 overs. For the Netherlands, they will be hoping that any overconfidence turns into complacency on behalf of Oman but will take nothing for granted, especially considering they were beaten by the men from the Middle East at last year’s qualification tournament for this event.

Team News

Oman Squad: Zeeshan Maqsood, Khawar Ali, Jatinder Singh, Adnan Ilyas, Mehran Khan, Aamir Kaleem, Amir Ali, Sultan Ahmed(w/c), Ajay Lalcheta, Munis Ansari, Bilal Khan, Aaqib Sulehri, Rajeshkumar Ranpura, Vaibhav Wategaonkar, Sufyan Mehmood.

Netherlands Squad: Wesley Barresi(w), Stephan Myburgh, Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Peter Borren(c), Roelof van der Merwe, Mudassar Bukhari, Pieter Seelaar, Timm van der Gugten, Logan van Beek, Paul van Meekeren, Michael Rippon, Ahsan Malik, Vivian Kingma, Max O’Dowd.


Post a Comment

Posting comments will be enabled soon!