IPL 9: Mumbai Indians to play in first match


IPL team Mumbai Indians will open their title defence at home against new team Rising Pune Supergiants to kick-start the 2016 Indian Premier League on April 9.

The match is set to take place at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The final of the tournament will also be taking place in the city on May 29.

A total of 60 matches (including 4 play-offs) will be played over a period of 51 days, in the ninth season of the tournament.

The Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur will be hosting two games of the Delhi Daredevils, while the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium at Nagpur will host three games of Kings XI Punjab.

IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla said “All the top players from around the world will be seen in action this year. This season the IPL will be played at 10 venues: Mohali, Delhi, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Rajkot and Raipur. I am excited to join the fans to see a lot of exciting cricket over the next three months”.