ICC World T20 2016: Top scorers from teams ahead of semi-final


The floodlit ICC Twenty20 2016, has reached the final phase and all four qualified teams eye their best chances in semi-finals. In the semi-final matches, England are schedule to play New Zealand and India will face West Indies on Wednesday and Thursday respectively.

All the teams have fought hard for a place in semis and fans expect another set of high-spark clashes ahead. Here is a list of top scorers from each team.

Virat Kohli

Guiding the Men-in-blue, Indian vice-captain played incredibly so far in the tournament. Playing four matches at the group stage, the 27-year-old Delhi chap scored 23, 55, 24 and 82 respectively against New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Australia. Coming to bat at No. 3 spot, Kohli drove the Indians to a comfortable position in every match.

Joe Root

The young Yorkshire batsman is going through a great form as the Englishman has contributed well to take England to the semis. Scoring brilliant knocks of 48 and 83 runs respectively against West Indies and South Africa, Root set the rhythm, which his teammates followed. The right-hander made 168 runs so far in the tournament and expected to be a key player in their next clash against New Zealand.

Martin Guptill

The overwhelming opener from Auckland has been a delight so far in the tournament. Giving New Zealand a solid start, Guptill fell for 6 runs in the first match though he later scored 39 and 80 runs against Australia and Pakistan. The 29-year-old batsman will be fresh to fight as he was rested against Bangladesh on Saturday.

Andre Fletcher

Although West Indies have a heavy-hitter like Chris Gayle, Andre Fletcher is also there to clinch the victory. Grenada-born batsman struck unbeaten 84 runs against Sri Lanka and drove West Indies to a 7-wicket win, when Gayle couldn’t bat due to prohibition. Even though Fletcher didn’t play against England, he scored 106 runs in three matches of World T20. Unfortunately, the right-hander will not play the semi-final match as he has been replaced with Lendl Simmons, due to an injury.