ICC World T20 2016: A chronicle of champions from World T20


England will face spirited West Indies in final of the ICC World T20 on Sunday. The Eden Gardens will host the grand finale of mega-event that has engaged cricket-lovers across the world over the past three weeks.

Both England and West Indies have won the title earlier in 2010 and 2012 respectively. For that reason, both teams will be eyeing the title for a second time at Kolkata.

Along with these two champions, here is a list of previous winners from the ICC World T20 2016.

India – 2007

With a 5-wicket win over the arch-rivals Pakistan, India won the initial season of ICC World T20. Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni played smartly as he used Joginder Sharma precisely to scrap Misbah-ul-haq. The Indian cricket team lifted the trophy at South Africa.

Pakistan – 2009

Pakistan pacer Abdul Razzaq claimed 3 wickets to restrict Sri Lanka to a small total in final and Shahid Afridi pushed Pakistan towards the win, later with his fifty. Younis Khan led Pakistan won the 2009 edition, hosted by England.

England – 2010

Chasing a competitive target of 148 runs, England’s route was charming as Craig Kieswetter (63) and Kevin Pietersen (47) put their soul to the match. Stunning Australia by 7 wickets, England won the 2010 edition at the Caribbean island.

West Indies – 2012

The winning playing XI included 7 players those are in current squad as well. Charged with the knock of Marllon Samuels (78), Sunil Narine claimed 3 wickets to outclass Sri Lanka by 36 runs. Darren Sammy-led West Indies lifted the title at Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka – 2014

Defending champions Sri Lanka appeared wobbly this season as they were ousted after losing three consecutive matches. Lasith Malinga-led Asian lions sealed the crown in 2014 after routing India by 6 wickets in Bangladesh.


Post a Comment

Posting comments will be enabled soon!