Sri Lanka announce squad for South Africa; Wikum Sanjaya earns maiden call-up

Uncapped fast bowler Wikum Sanjaya has earned his maiden international call-up as the Sri Lankan cricket board announced their 15-man squad which will tour South Africa.

Wikum Sanjaya, who hails from Colombo was named in the 15-man squad after a string of good performances in the domestic circuit where he picked 38 wickets in 17 matches including a six-wicket haul against Army SC last weekend. He will now feature in a five-man pace attack which includes Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal Nuwan Pradeep, and Lahiru Kumara.

Skipper Angelo Matthews and vice-captain Dinesh Chandimal also make comebacks to the side after missing out on the recently concluded tour of Zimbabwe. Matthews suffered a calf injury while Chandimal underwent a surgery after suffering multiple dislocations.


Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Madushanka and Lahiru Gamage have faced the axe after a poor run in the Zimbabwe tour. The sides will face off during the Boxing Day Test match at Port Elizabeth.

Sri Lanka squad touring South Africa: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dilruwan Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal and Wikum Sanjaya.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top